A National Research Infrastructure for Biological Imaging



Executive Board (EB)

The Executive Board comprises the National Coordinator assisted of the administrative officer and the communication assistant if necessary and the six nodes coordinators or their substitutes.

MembersTasksNational Coordination

Coordinator: Jean SALAMERO
Administrative Officer: Corinne TESSIER
Nodes Heads

  • Paris Centre: Ludovic JULLIEN (substitutes: Laurent BOURDIEU, Valentina EMILIANI)
  • Île de France Sud: Nadine PEYRIERAS (substitute: Béatrice SATIAT-JEUNEMAÎTRE)
  • Marseille: Pierre-François LENNE (substitute: Didier MARGUET)
  • Montpellier: Marcelo NOLLMANN (substitute: Emmanuel MARGEAT)
  • Bordeaux: Daniel CHOQUET (substitute: Patrick MOREAU)
  • IPDM: Charles KERVRANN & Jean-Christophe OLIVO-MARIN, project manager: Perrine PAUL-GILLOTEAUX

Day to Day work, Management, Support decision, Process Plan, Networking & Communication, Landscape perimeter, Working plan.

  • Monthly EB meetings (Visio conf)
  • On-site visits

FBI National Coordinator
Dir. of UMS 3714 – CEMIBIO, CNRS – Institut Curie

Administrative Officer
UMS 3714 – CEMIBIO, CNRS – Institut Curie

Communications Officer
UMS 3714 – CEMIBIO, CNRS – Institut Curie

National Advisory Committee (NAC)
The NAC is composed of three bodies representing the users, the industrial community and the institution.


National User Committee

The NUC is composed of users of our facilities who do not belong to the France BioImaging perimeter. It is animated by a coordinator who acts as liaison between the users and the Executive Board.


Coordinator: Lydia Danglot


The NUC allows FBI to keep in contact with the overall national community involved in the development of imaging instruments and methods in R&D labs and core facilities. NUC stands several times a year, in order to consider and include user recommendations and suggestions in the overall improvement of the infrastructure.

FBI Industry Committee (IC)

The IC is composed of local representatives of companies involved in field of microscopy, from start-ups to big conglomerates.

MembersTasksRules of ProcedureLetter of Engagement

President: Philippe Rideau (Nikon)
Vice-President: Martin Belle (CryoCapCell)

Representatives of:

The IC gives recommendations and suggestions on the direction of industrial partnerships initiated by FBI.

The IC follows rules of procedure defining its organization. These rules will be published shortly.


National “Tech Watch” Committee

The National “Tech Watch” Committee is composed of representatives of the main French microscopy networks. Missions of the National Advisory Committee are to help and advise the Executive Board relative to the perimeter and investments of France-BioImaging actions at the scientific, strategic and operational levels.


Networks Representatives

  • RTmfm: Sandrine LECART

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)
The SAB is composed of six independent and eminent members of the scientific community in the field of biological imaging, from abroad.


President: Enrico Gratton (Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Physics, University of California, Spectroscopy / Biological Imaging)

  • Luis Bagatolli (Professor, University of Southern Denmark)
  • Teng-Leong Chew (Director for the Advanced Imaging Center, Janelia-Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Light Microscopy)
  • Francesco Pavone (Professor, University of Florence, Biophotonics Microscopy / Neurology)
  • Carolina Wählby (Uppsala University, Quantitative Microscopy)
  • Yannick Schwab (Head of Electron Microscopy Core Facility, EMBL)
  • Markus Sauer (Chair of Biotechnology & Biophysics Biocenter, University of Würzburg)

The SAB gives recommendations and suggestions on the scientific perimeter and technological developments carried out by FBI, but also on the efficiency and pertinence of both service and technological transfer from R&D teams to the Imaging Core Facilities open to users.

The SAB examines the results and projects of the infrastructure every 2 years, evaluates progresses, strengths and weaknesses, and proposes new avenues of service opening and offer, scientific investigation and technological development.

Institutional Committee (IC)
The institutional committee involves representatives of all signatories of the Consortium Agreement.


Representatives of:

  • CNRS
  • Aix-Marseille Université
  • Institut Pasteur
  • Inria
  • Université Paris Diderot – Paris 7
  • Université de Bordeaux
  • Université de Montpellier
  • Institut Curie
  • Ecole Normale Supérieure
  • Université Paris Descartes
  • Ecole Polytechnique
  • Inserm

The Institutional Committee takes responsibility of decisions concerning major changes in orientation, composition, evolution and sustainability of the national infrastructure FBI.
It is also convened in case of major conflicts between members of the Executive Board.

For all the above reasons, the national coordinator informs the main supervising institution of FBI, the CNRS. Then, the CNRS notifies the other Parties and organizes debates and meetings. Final, the Institutional Committees takes decision, if necessary.